Deadline Wednesday: Citizen of the Year nominations sought from area residents

TRAVELERS REST, S.C. – The Greater Travelers Rest Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations from area residents for the 2017 Citizen of the Year award.

The award, sponsored by the Bank of Travelers Rest, is presented to someone who has gone above and beyond in recent times to improve the quality of life in our community.

In 2016, Dr. Stanley Coleman was named the Citizen of the Year. A doctor in Travelers Rest since 1988, Dr. Coleman is best known for his work at Travelers Rest Family Practice. An active member of the community, he is a longtime member of Trinity Presbyterian Church, a Travelers Rest Historical Society member and a 20-year member of the Sierra Club.

Other past winners include Steve Borklund (2015), Rev. David Simmons (2014), Winn Freeman (2013), Roy Reynolds (2012), Mann Batson (2011), Dr. James E. Barnett Sr. (2010), Clyde Carr (2009), Dot Bishop (2008), Raymond and Brynda Brown (2007), Terry and Lee Cross and "Our Gang” (2006), Linda Garland (2005), Dianne Drummond (2004), Carolyn Crosby (2003) and Virginia Whitmire (2002).

A nomination form is available for download here. The nomination deadline is Wed., Dec. 6, and forms can be returned by mail or email (addresses on form).

A nominating committee will determine the winner, and their decision will be announced at a banquet to be held Jan. 9 at Green Valley Country Club.

To learn more about the Greater Travelers Rest Chamber of Commerce, visit their website here.