Travelers Rest mayoral, city council candidates announced

TRAVELERS REST, S.C. – The filing period to run as a candidate in the 2017 city of Travelers Rest municipal election ended at noon on Tuesday.

In addition to the mayoral seat currently held by Mayor Wayne McCall, four city council seats — those held by Harvey Choplin, Rebecca Cooper, Rick Floyd and Jeff George — are set to be filled.

According to city officials, candidates filing to run in the election include:


• Brandy Amidon

• Rebecca Nix Cooper


• Harvey Choplin

• Rick Floyd

• Jeff George

• Cindy Meier

• Duncan Shirley III

• Brantly Vest

• Megan Zapf

The municipal election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2017.

To register to vote in this election, please visit the Greenville County Voter Registration Office, the nearest public library, or visit the website.

For more municipal election information, please call Travelers Rest City Hall at 864-834-7958.


Stay connected with the Tribune: FacebookTwitterInstagramiOnGreenville

Subscribe to the Tribune's free, weekly eNews.