Glassy Mountain FD commissioners sworn in

Click here to subscribe to the Tribune's free, weekly eNews.

LANDRUM, S.C. — Three new members elected to the 2018 Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area Board of Commissioners were recently sworn in by Greenville County Councilman Joe Dill. 

Pictured from left to right are:  Councilman Dill; Andrea Martin, of Travelers Rest; Bill Atkins, of Landrum; and Dick Dusa, of Travelers Rest. 

(Advertisement. Continue reading below.)

They join Chairman Dwight Hammack (Travelers Rest), Commissioners Carl Roed (Travelers Rest) and Jim White (Landrum), and Treasurer Richard Baker (Travelers Rest). 

The Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area was established in 1987 to organize a volunteer fire department to provide fire/safety protection and a first response emergency unit within the community.  The service area covers nearly 52 square miles with a population of approximately 3,000 residents in the area known as The Dark Corner in northern Greenville County, which stretches from the east at the Spartanburg County line on Highway 14 to the west of Highway 25 and begins in the south near Highway 414 to the North Carolina state line. The District operates five fire stations: Glassy Mountain (Headquarters), Beaver Dam, Oak Grove, Dividing Water and Cliffs, with approximately 50 career and volunteer firefighters and first responders.

On the Web: Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area


Stay connected with the Tribune: FacebookTwitterInstagramiOnGreenville

Subscribe to the Tribune's free, weekly eNews.